VIRTUAL AWARDS: Thursday, March 25th

Excellence in Education Awards 2021 will be a virtual Awards Ceremony, honoring leaders in education and community giving.


The fun will continue at Mill River Park with SPEF’s Springtime Celebration, an outdoor festival honoring award recipients and SPEF supporters, and featuring music from students, dance performances, art exhibits, and picnic fare.

Thank you for supporting SPEF programs by donating to our Virtual Excellence in Education Event!

Stay tuned for an announcement of  2021 Auction items!

Excellence in Education 2020 Awards: June 22nd at 6PM

The annual event was held virtually in 2020 and continued the tradition of bringing together community members, corporations, school administrators, teachers, parents, and other nonprofit agencies to celebrate the power of public education for students and families in Stamford.

SPEF honored the following 2020 award recipients:

SPEF Educator Award Brenda Zanga, AITE
SPEF Leadership Award Wendy Block & Vicki Craver, Founders of Impact Fairfield County
SPEF Philanthropy Award Pitney Bowes
Stamford Public Schools’ Teacher of the Year Award Lisa Legato-Howlett & Barbara Hanauer


SPEF Leadership Award
Jack Bryant (posthumous)

Jack was a member of the Board of Education and the former President of the Stamford NAACP. He is being honored for his tireless advocacy on behalf of underserved families and students in our community.

SPEF Educator Award

This year’s educators, nominated by the community, will be recognized for their dedication in creating an exceptional learning environment for Stamford students during this unprecedented COVID-19 pandemic. Winners will be announced during the Virtual Awards Ceremony.

SPEF Community Giving Award

Gartner is being recognized for its exemplary dedication to enriching the lives of students and families in Stamford’s public schools through volunteerism and financial support.

SPS Teacher of the Year

This peer-selected teacher epitomizes the highest standards of the profession—and will represent Stamford Public Schools in the State and National Teacher of the Year program. SPS will also recognize its Spotlight Award recipients, educators who bring special levels of innovation, creativity and inspiration to Stamford’s children.

*The Springtime Celebration will be contingent upon guidelines dictated by the CDC, State of Connecticut, and the City of Stamford Health Department.

GARTNER is a registered trademark and service mark of Gartner, Inc. and/or its affiliates in the U.S. and internationally and is used herein with permission. All rights reserved.